Senior Management

Prof Ngubane

Professor Sihawukele Ngubane (Chairman) is the Head of Teaching and Learning in the School of Arts at the University of KwaZulu-Natal. He is an Onomastician and an author of educational and literary isiZulu books as well as the Chairperson of the Zulu Writers Guild.

Professor Keyan Tomaselli is Distinguished Professor at the University of Johannesburg, editor of Critical Arts:  South-North Cultural and Media Studies and co-editor of Journal of African Cinemas.  He is co-editor with Anthony Olorunnisola of  Political Economy of Transformation: The South African Media. Hampton Press, 2011. A member of the Academy of Science for South Africa, he is also Professor Emeritus and a Sometime Fellow at the University of KwaZulu-Natal, where he was for 29 years the Director of the Centre for Communication, Media and Society.


Monica Seeber (Treasurer) founded ANFASA in 2004 and was its first director. She is a publishing consultant and book editor, and co-author with Nicholas Evans of The Politics of Publishing in South Africa (2001) as well as a guide to the management of copyright in book publishing, written for WIPO.  Monica has also written numerous articles on copyright and publishing. She is a founder member of the African Publishers Network (APNET).

anfasa Elitha pic

Elitha van der Zandt is the Chief Executive Officer of the South African Book Development Council (SABDC) amongst her duties as the CEO, she spearheads national growth strategies for the book publishing sector. She holds a BCom degree from the University of the Western Cape and has been involved in lobbying the government to invest into the creation of a diverse book sector serving all South Africans.


Tsietsi Winston Dennis Mohapi is the co-founder and Chairman of MoabaSesotho: the Sesotho Writers’ Association. He is also the head of African languages Translation and Editing at the Department of Arts and Culture. He is one of the prolific Sesotho authors with two awards on drama and novel  out of his more than twenty books. He is one of the long serving ANFASA Board member.